Awards & Competitions - in Africa

Africa Architecture Awards 2017

Registration: Closed

Project submission deadline: Entries close on the 30th of June for all categories except the Peoples’ Choice Award which closes on the 18th of August

Final Judging: 4-5 September 2017

Awards Ceremony: Thursday 28th of September, in the Zeitz Museum of Contemporary Art Africa,  Cape Town, South Africa. All short-listed projects will be invited to the Awards Ceremony by the sponsors.

Publication and exhibitions of winning work: October – December 2017



Africa Architecture Awards 2017│Architecture Awards for Africa, by Africa

The Africa Architecture Awards seek to celebrate design excellence and promote an increased awareness of the role and importance of architecture across Africa. Based on values rather than categories, the awards seek to honour established architects and encourage emerging and future voices.

A ‘Critical Dialogue’ award promotes excellence in architectural writing, film and criticism and encourages new forms of discussion and dialogue through the innovative use of digital media. A special ‘Lifetime Achiever’s Award’ may also be awarded in any jury cycle for an architect or architects who have made a significant contribution to the field over a substantive period of time. A Peoples’ Choice Award will also be given to the entry voted most popular online.

Objectives of the Africa Architecture Awards 2017

As an internationally recognised, world-class award for African architecture, the objectives of the programme are to:

  • Promote design excellence across a range of built environment disciplines;
  • Create a stronger awareness of the role of architects and urban designers with the general public;
  • Educate public and private sector clients to commission better work;
  • Facilitate conversations, connections and collaborative possibilities for architects across the continent;
  • Provide a platform for emerging voices;
  • Provide a new view of African architecture globally;
  • Begin to build cultural capital for good African architecture and design through exhibitions, publications and new digital forms of dissemination (films, documentaries, festivals);
  • Highlight innovative practitioners and academics who might have a longer-term effect on the accreditation and training of African architects;
  • Provide African architects with an awards programme that recognises and celebrates the particular conditions, challenges and opportunities of pan-African practice and education.

Judging criteria

All work in the Built/Speculative/Emerging Voices categories will be evaluated within the following three criteria, each of which carries equal weighting.

  • Innovation│of design, materials, approach, practice, new forms of public space
  • Identity│projects that deal sensitively and innovatively with heritage and tradition; that embody cultural sensitivity; contextual interpretation; appropriation and repurposing of use; that attempt to translate traditional ways of building/occupying space into modern and contemporary contexts
  • Implementation│the energy and inventiveness required in Africa to implement/create projects in markets with varying levels and scales of economic government support and infrastructure

Ambassador of the Awards 2017

Phill Mashabane (Mashabane Rose Architects)

Phill Mashabane is a distinguished member of the South African architecture community and, during his term as the President of SACAP (South African Council for the Architectural Profession) for over 6 years, he travelled extensively in Africa. His role as a spokesperson for the Awards benefits from his extensive architectural knowledge, excellence in practice and Africa-wide network. He was a member of the Master Jury in the inaugural awards in 2015, and provides continuity in his role on the Master Jury 2017 over and above his support as Ambassador for the Awards 2017.

Why enter the Africa Architecture Awards 2017?

  • Recognition and reward│Be acknowledged for the work you believe in. 20 Shortlist winners will be treated to a VIP experience in Johannesburg for the Awards ceremony and one Grand Prix winner will receive $10 000
  • It’s free and anyone can enter│The individuals or practices that choose to compete submit all entries online. There are no nominations or filters between participants and entry. The only cost is the time it takes to prepare your entry.
  • Ongoing promotion│All entries are displayed online. After the shortlist winners are announced in July 2017 the name of the entrant will be displayed alongside the entry. This site will then be a digest of work been done on African Architecture.


Steering Panel

The Steering Panel for the Africa Architecture Awards 2017 met at the invitation of Saint-Gobain from the 24th to the 25th of June in Maboneng, Johannesburg as part of a week long festival celebrating architecture. The panel included 2 previous winners from the 2015 Architecture for Social Gain Awards, 4 practicing architects from across the African continent, both emerging and well established, plus an international architect and film maker.

The Steering Panel, Chaired by Prof Lesely Lokko have defined the criteria and categories for the awards and nominated the Master Jury for the Africa Architecture Awards 2017. They will brief the Master Jury in July at which point their term of service will end. They are then eligible for nomination as part of the Master Jury 2019.

  • Lesley Lokko (Chair), Ghana
  • Urko Sánchez, Kenya
  • Mphethi Morojele, South Africa
  • Luís Urbano, Portugal
  • Doreen Adengo, Uganda
  • Issa Diabaté, Côte d’Ivoire
  • Thomas Chapman, South Africa

Master Jury for the Africa Architecture Awards 2017

  • Phill Mashabane
  • Anna Abengowe
  • Guillaume Koffi
  • Prof. Edgar Pieterse
  • Patti Anahory
  • Prof. Mark Olweny
  • Tanzeem Razak

Sponsored by

For further information and updates

Clik here if you want to ENTER NOW!!

For further information about the competition and possible updates, please visit the Africa Architecture Awards official website.

To know the Entry Guidelines (criteria, categories, prize structure, rules & eligibility for enty, impartiality, entry specifications, judging criteria) and Key Dates, please click here. 



Sign Up!

Latest content delivered weekly straight to your inbox


Los últimos contenidos semanalmente en tu correo