Awards & Competitions - International

LafargeHolcim Awards 2016/2017

Status: Open

Registration: Deadline March 21, 2017 at 14:00hrs (UTC)

Language: English

Prize: The total prize money for each cycle of the LafargeHolcim Awards competition (regional and global levels) is USD 2 million

Type: Open for projects in architecture, building and civil engineering, landscape and urban design, materials, products and construction technologies that contribute to the five “target issues” for sustainable construction.


About the LafargeHolcim Awards:

The LafargeHolcim Awards is the most significant global competition in sustainable design. Organized every three years by the LafargeHolcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction, the competition identifies the ideas with the highest potential to tackle today’s challenges to increasing urbanization and to improve quality of life.

The competition has two categories with different requirements:

The LafargeHolcim Awards (main category) is open to projects at an advanced stage of design with a high probability of execution that contribute to the “target issues” for sustainable construction. All authors must be at least 18 (date of birth March 21, 1999 or earlier).

The Next Generation (young professionals and students category) is open to visionary projects and bold ideas that contribute to the “target issues” for sustainable construction. All authors must be aged between 18 and 30 (date of birth between July 5, 1985 and March 21, 1999).


The juries consist of independent, renowned representatives from science, business and society. The regional juries are supported by affiliated universities of the LafargeHolcim Foundation and coordinated by the Academic Committee (AC) of the LafargeHolcim Foundation. For more information on juries see: They evaluate entries against the “target issues” for sustainable construction.


Last Edition: 4th Holcim Awards Cycle: 2014–2015

The winners of the Holcim Awards 2014 winners for Africa Middle East have been announced in Beirut. The twelve winning projects share in more than USD 300,000 prize money, and illustrate how sustainable construction continues to evolve – developing more sophisticated and multi-disciplinary responses to the challenges facing the building and construction industry.

The winners for the last Edition, the Regional Holcim Awards 2014 for Africa Middle East were:

Holcim Awards Gold

Eco-Techno Park: Green building showcase and enterprise hub, Ankara, Turkey

An Eco-Park for sustainable research and technology that will promote small and middle-sized enterprises is planned for an industrial zone.

Lafarge Holcim Silver
Evergreen City: Urban pine forest rehabilitation, Beirut, Lebanon

A rehabilitation plan has been proposed to develop the facilities and services needed in the park for opening it to the public and promoting it for cultural, social, sports, and environmental activities – while at the same time maintaining and conserving the park’s natural habitats.

Lafarge Holcim Bronze
Incremental Construction: Low-cost modular housing scheme, Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

Responding to the housing challenge of rapid urbanization, the project develops a purposefully incomplete structure that is both affordable and rapid to assemble.


About the Organizer



The LafargeHolcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction was created in 2003 (as the Holcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction) to raise awareness of the important role that architecture, engineering, urban planning and construction have in achieving a more sustainable future – and to globally encourage critical interdisciplinary and long-range perspectives.

Following the completion of the merger that gave birth to LafargeHolcim in 2015, the Foundation also changed its name. Eric Olsen, CEO, and members of the Executive Committee of LafargeHolcim Roland Köhler (responsible for Europe) and Gérard Kuperfarb (responsible for Growth and Innovation), represent LafargeHolcim on the Board of the Foundation.

The primary objective of the Foundation is to select and support a range of initiatives that extend beyond technical solutions to promoting sustainable construction approaches and solutions that embrace architectural excellence and enhanced quality of life.


For further information:

For further information about the Awards, visit the official website. 


Sign Up!

Latest content delivered weekly straight to your inbox


Los últimos contenidos semanalmente en tu correo