Awards & Competitions - International

The 2016 Guangzhou Award

When: December 7th, 2016

Where: Guangzhou, China


The Guangzhou Award (Guangzhou International Award for Urban Innovation) Awards Winners´s announcement

Next December 7th, The Jury of the Guanzhou Award will announce the Final selection in Ganzhou. There are 15 shortlisted cities, as Finalists, and two of them are African. The Organising Committee invites you to vote for your favorite city in “Online Popular City” and to have a chance to win a special prize.


The Guangzhou Award is derived from the city’s long-term cooperation with United Cities and Local Governments (UCLG) from its foundation in 2004 and with the World Association of Major Metropolises (Metropolis) since 1993.

Co-hosted by UCLG, Metropolis, and Guangzhou Municipal Government, the Guangzhou Award aims to recognize innovation in improving social, economic and environmental sustainability in cities and regions and, in doing so, to advance the prosperity and quality of life of their citizens. Presented biennially, the award will encourage and recognize outstanding innovative projects and practices in the public sector.

Against the background of a rapidly changing social, economic and environmental context in the 21st century, the Guangzhou Award contributes to the progress of city performances by promoting innovations in the public sector and presenting a platform for the sharing and exchange of lessons learned from successful innovation practices.

The award is open to all cities and regions worldwide, including members of Metropolis and UCLG. Applicants can submit innovative achievements in such thematic fields as Public Services, Organization and Administration, Partnership and Citizen Involvement, Smart City, Sustainable City, and others. The Guangzhou Award will be granted to up to 5 winners. Each of the winners will be awarded with USD 20,000, apart from a trophy and a certificate. Winners will also be invited to attend side events including seminars and exhibitions on urban innovation.


The Technical Committee (TC) Members of the 3rd Guangzhou Award are as follows:

  • Ms. Monika Zimmermann, TC Chair / Deputy Secretary General of ICLEI Local Governments for Sustainability, World Secretary
  • Ms. Belinda Yuen, TC Member  / Chartered Town Planner; Research Director, Lee Kuan Yew Centre for Innovative Cities, Singapore University of Technology & Design; Vice President (Southeast Asia) Commonwealth Association of Planners; Former President, Singapore Institute of Planners
  • Mr. Ajay Suri, TC Member / Regional Adviser –Asia, Cities Alliance
  • Mr. Chris Johnson, TC Member / CEO of Urban Taskforce Australia; Former Executive Director in New South Wales Planning Department; Former NSW Government Architect, Life Fellow of Australian Institute of Architects
  • Mr. Lin Zhu, TC Member / Executive Chairman of China Urban Operation League; Consultative Committee Member of CITIC Foundation for Reform & Development Studies
  • Mr. Francisco Berruete, TC Member / European Architect, Lecturer at University of Zaragoza, Spain; PhD in Peripheries and Urban Sustainability at Technical University of Madrid; Founding Partner of BMASB Architecture, Urban Planning Consultant Office
  • Mr. Bachir Kanoute, TC Member / Town planner, Executive Coordinator of Enda Ecopop. Focal Point and Head of office for Africa of the International Observatory of Participatory Democracy (IOPD)
  • Ms. Sheila Ochugboju, TC Member / Ambassador of Transformative Science and Urban Resilience, Government of Kisumu, Kenya; Head Researcher, UN-Habitat Global State of Urban Youth Report (GSUYR 2015/2016); Chair of Jury, Global Innovation Competition (2013-2016)
  • Ms. Elisa Silva, TC Member / Architect with a Master Degree from Harvard GSD; Professor at the Simón Bolívar University; Consultant to CAF development bank of Latin American and Sucre Municipality; Director & Founder of Enlace Arquitectura
  • Mr. Jorge Pérez Jaramillo, TC Member  / Architect, independent advisor; Former Dean School of Architecture FAUPB; Former Deputy Planning Director Area Metropolitana del Valle de Aburra 2004-08, Former Planning Director of Medellin 2012-15, Leader for Medellin’s team awarded with Lee Kwan Yew World City Prize 2016
  • Mr. Augusto Mathias, TC Member / Advisor of the National Confederation of Municipalities of Brazil/FLACMA; Healthy City Planner; Research Associate, Smart- UMTRI University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute

Guangzhou Award vote online


The 15 shortlisted cities are as follows…and there are two African cities among the Finalists!!!

The Organising Committee of the Guangzhou Award invites you to vote for your favorite city in “Online Popular City” and to have a chance to win a special prize.  Please vote for your favorite city in “The Online Popular City”.

Voting will close on 5 December, 2016. The city with the most votes will be the winner of “The Online Popular City”. The winner of “The Online Popular City” will be announced at the award ceremony of the 3rd Guangzhou Award held in Guangzhou on 7 December, 2016.

  • Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
  • Asuncion, Paraguay
  • Boston, USA
  • Brussels, Belgium
  • Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Jakarta, Indonesia
  • La Paz, Bolivia
  • Luleburgaz, Turkey
  • Malang, Indonesia
  • Menashe, Israel
  • Qalyubeya, Egypt
  • Ramallah, Palestine
  • Songpa-gu, South Korea
  • Tampere, Finland
  • Tlajomulco de Zuñiga, México


United Cities and Local Governments (UCLG) represents and defends the interests of local governments on the world stage, regardless of the size of the communities they serve. Headquartered in Barcelona, the organisation’s stated mission is:

To be the united voice and world advocate of democratic local self-government, promoting its values, objectives and interests, through cooperation between local governments, and within the wider international community.

logo-metropolisMetropolis is the largest association gathering the governments of major cities all over the world.

As part of the global movement that advocates for democraticlocal self-government, the World Association of the Major Metropolises (Metropolis) recognizes that local governments are the key actors to respond to the urban challenges of our century.

Metropolis currently represents the authorities of 137 great cities and metropolitan areas in Africa, the Americas & the Caribbean, Asia & the Pacific, and Europe.


For further information

For further information about the event, please visit the Guangzhou Award´s  website.



Sign Up!

Latest content delivered weekly straight to your inbox


Los últimos contenidos semanalmente en tu correo