Awards & Competitions - in Africa


Submission Deadline: 31 May, 2017

Fee: A non-refundable entry fee of R1200,00 Vat incl is required for entry.


Architecture is the most visible and public of the arts. An important function of all the Regional Institutes and the South African Institute of Architects (SAIA) is to recognise and promote excellence in architecture and to create public awareness and debate on architectural issues. The awards programme is in support of these goals, and run in two stages over a two-year period.

During the first stage, the Regional Institutes invite submissions, appoint and convene a panel of jurors to decide the Regional Awards for Architecture and eligible projects to be submitted for national consideration.  The Regional Awards for Architecture are announced and made at a regional function that takes place during 2017.

The second stage of the programme starts during 2017 with the submission of entries by the regional panels of assessors for consideration of the SAIA Award of Merit and the SAIA Award for Excellence.  A national panel of jurors, convened by the SAIA president, will convene after receipt of the projects by the National Office.  This will be done to select the projects it wishes to inspect from the submitted entries. During the first few months of 2018, the national panel of jurors will inspect the projects in loco. The SAIA Awards of Merit and the Awards for Excellence will be announced at a national function.


GIfA invites members to submit entries for the regional and SAIA awards programme.  Eligible projects will be forwarded to the national panel of assessors for adjudication of the SAIA Award of Merit and For Excellence. (See Form headed Conditions for Entry: Projects Completed During 2015-2016, Item 2 for more information).

Work may be submitted to the Region by the author or submitted by any member of the Region with the author’s, or other responsible person’s permission.

Projects that fall in an area under jurisdiction of the Regional Institute, and were completed during the period  01 January 2015 to 31 December 2016, are eligible for entry to the GIfA and SAIA’s awards programme 2016-2017.

Please note that all the Regional Institutes are inviting entries for the awards. Members who have done work in an area outside the jurisdiction of the Regional Institute should obtain (and return) entry forms from the relevant Regional Institute in which the project falls. It should be noted that in loco inspection of projects that are situated in remote areas of the Region may not be possible, and additional video material on DVD is required to adjudicate the project by way of a virtual inspection. The submitted project will require the presence of the project Architect (or representative thereof) during the in loco inspections.

Projects outside South Africa may be submitted to the member’s Regional Institute. It should be noted that in loco inspection of these projects may not be possible, and additional video material on DVD is required to adjudicate the project by way of a virtual inspection. Should such projects go forward for national adjudication, and funding is made available by the entrant to cover the costs, every effort will be made by the national panel of assessors to carry out an in loco inspection.

In order to offer equal opportunity throughout the country for members to enter projects, the guidelines apply to all Regions, and a uniform format of the call for entries, conditions for entry and the nomination / submission form has been established for use by all the Regions.

Please read and comply with the attached conditions and kindly submit all the required material in the prescribed format. Members should note that the awards are conferred on the building or project, not on the authors or client, although their names (architectural practice) appear on the certificates. Please note that all documentation must be signed by a principal of the Architectural Practice. (It is critical that if two or more practices are entering their project that this is made very clear on the entry).


This award is made by the Regional Institute to encourage and recognise good design or a noteworthy contribution in the field of architecture in the Region. It may be for:

Entry Form A:

  • a new building or group of buildings;
  • a work of technological importance;
  • the conservation, restoration and/or rehabilitation (refurbishment) of existing buildings, historic precincts or areas

Entry Form B:

  • a work of social importance, other than a building, for which the member or architectural practice was appointed as the architect;
  • Research in the field of architecture.

There is no restriction on the building type, use or size. It is also intended for small-scale alterations or interiors if they are of exceptional quality and contribute to the current discourse on architecture.  Although the project may contain flaws, it should be clearly identifiable as having specific attributes worthy of recognition.


The Gauteng Institute for Architecture is a progressive regional architectural institute, which together with its members and other built environment partners can unlock communities’ access to a sustainable built environment. It recognizes the immeasurable potential of responsible architecture that unequivocally improves the quality of existence of being.


For further information

For further information, visit the official Competition´s website.

For further information about the second stage (SAIA AWARD Of Merit & AWARD For Excellence 2018) visit the article on Apsaidal.

Please download the application files for the full details.


Sign Up!

Latest content delivered weekly straight to your inbox


Los últimos contenidos semanalmente en tu correo