Awards & Competitions - in Africa

AAK – Duracoat Awards of Excellence in Architecture 2017

Submission Deadline: 30th November 2017

Awards Ceremony: 5th December 2017, Villa Rosa Kempinski, Nairobi


AAK (Architectural Association of Kenya is pleased )- Duracoat Awards of Excellence in Architecture 2017.
This award scheme is aimed at recognizing excellence in architecture for projects designed / completed in Kenya over the last 50 years.

By not celebrating our great Architects we are chopping their hands

The wonders of the world were made by Architects from the Pyramids, to the leaning tower and the Great Wall…..etc were made by Architects but the cruel history chopped their hands. Only the political leaders are accorded the glory of these timeless wonders of the world.

For Taj Mahal the emperor literally chopped the hands of the architects so they could never build a similar monument anywhere in the world.
Stop the crimes against humanity on Architects. It is time to celebrate our great Architects. Enter the AAK Duracoat Awards of excellence to be celebrated on 18th February. Don’t let anyone chop your hands.


Awards shall be presented in the following categories:

  • Best Residential Building Project
  • Best Commercial Building Project
  • Best Urban Design / Town Planning Project
  • Best Hospitality Industry Project
  • Best Cultural Building Project – (Art Gallery,Museums, Religious Building)
  • Best Health Centre / Hospital Project
  • Best Educational Institution Project
  • Best Landscaping Project
  • Best Building Transformation/ Renovation
  • Best Concept / Ongoing Project

Eligibility & Evaluation criteria

Entries will be accepted from all registered Architects / Architectural firms and who must be members of the Architectural Association of Kenya

Members can enter any project completed in Kenya. These can include any building, interior, landscape or urban design project.

The Jury will consider all submission and award projects on the basis of the following essential criteria:

  • Design and Planning Innovation and Creativity
  • Cost Effectiveness
  • Creative Use of materials
  • Promotion of African traditional architecture
  • Sustainability
  • Socio-economic impact to community
  • Professional training
  • Professional leadership
  • Eco-design
  • Land Use Plan and Response

Awards Ceremony

Awards of the AAK-Duracoat Architect of the Year 2017 will be presented at an Awards Gala Dinner on 5th December 2017 at the Villa Rosa Kempinki.

Submission information

All entrants will be required to submit a duly completed submission and declaration form together with the project submission on a maximum of three A1 sheets in .pdf format.

All entries to be submitted online at

All entries including the Submission / Declarations to be submitted online at

  • Important Dates
  1. Deadline for submission – 30th November 2017
  2. Awards Ceremony – 5th December 2017, Villa Rosa Kempinski, Nairobi
  • Entry fee

The entry fee for the award is Ksh. 2,000/- . The entry fee is non-refundable.

Jury Members

  • Arch. Jonathan Manning
  • Arch. Christian Benimana
  • Dr. Susan Kibue


Established in 1967, the Architectural Association of Kenya (AAK) is Kenya’s leading Association for professionals in the built and natural environment in Kenya incorporating Architects, Quantity Surveyors, Town Planners, Engineers, Landscape Architects and Environmental Design Consultants and Construction Project Managers.


For further information

For further information about the Awards, visit the Official Website.

Click here to Download Submission / Declaration Form.


Sign Up!

Latest content delivered weekly straight to your inbox


Los últimos contenidos semanalmente en tu correo