Awards & Competitions - International

2017 Moriyama RAIC International Prize

Submission deadline: The deadline for the receipt of all submission materials is 5 p.m. EDT, March 8, 2017.

Awards presentation: September 19, 2017, in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.


“The RAIC Moriyama prize recognizes the social values architects can foster with thoughtful design. The award is unique for its focus on the qualities of buildings in use. It is about how buildings create opportunities for individuals and communities.”

– Allan Teramura, FRAIC, 2016 RAIC President


The 2017 Moriyama RAIC International Prize is now accepting submissions.

The Prize, which was established in 2014 by Canadian architect Raymond Moriyama along with the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) and the RAIC Foundation, is awarded every two years.

The Prize consists of a monetary award of CAD $100,000 and a handcrafted sculpture designed by Canadian designer Wei Yew. Each edition of the prize features a new piece by Wei Yew based on a unique interpretation of the canadian landscape.

The prize is awarded to an architect, team of architects, or architect-led collaboration, based anywhere in the world, in recognition of a single work of architecture that is judged to be transformative within its societal context and expressive of the humanistic values of justice, respect, equality and inclusiveness.


The winner is selected in an open, juried competition. An international jury of experts will consider a range of criteria in the evaluation of submissions and intends to include site visits to shortlisted projects in the search for a work of architecture that is inspired as well as inspiring. The members of the 2017 Moriyama RAIC International Prize jury are:

  • Monica Adair, MRAIC / A Master of Architecture graduate from the University of Toronto, Monica Adair is the co-founder, with her partner Stephen Kopp, of the award-winning firm Acre Architects of Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada. Wallpaper Magazine selected Acre Architects for its 2016 Architects’ Directory that profiles rising star and breakthrough practices from around the globe.
  • Manon Asselin, MRAIC / Manon Asselin is a principal at the Montreal-based architectural practice Atelier TAG and a professor at the University of Montreal School of Architecture.
  • Bryan Avery / Described by World Architecture Magazine as “London’s leading Futurist,” Bryan Avery studied architecture at De Montfort University and Essex University under Professors Joseph Rykwert and Dalibor Veseley.
  • George Baird, FRAIC / George Baird is Emeritus Professor of Architecture, and the former dean of the John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design at the University of Toronto. He is the founding principal of the Toronto-based architecture and urban design firm Baird Sampson Neuert Architects.
  • Peter Cardew, FRAIC / Peter Cardew is the 2012 recipient of the RAIC Gold Medal and Principal of Peter Cardew Architects in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.
  • Barry Johns, FRAIC / Barry Johns is an internationally recognized architect in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.
  • Li Xiaodong / Li Xiaodong graduated from the School of Architecture at Tsinghua University in 1984. He earned his Ph.D. at the School of Architecture at the Delft University of Technology in the Netherlands between 1989-1993.

Professional Advisor: David M. Covo, FRAIC / David Covo is an Associate Professor of Architecture at McGill University and past Director of the School of Architecture. He is a Fellow of the RAIC, a member of the Order of Architects of Quebec and has maintained a private practice in Montreal since 1976. Associate Professor of Architecture at McGill University, will act as the Professional Advisor to the jury.

2017 Moriyama Raic International Prize

“The inaugural Moriyama RAIC International Prize was a great success,” says Raymond Moriyama, FRAIC. “For this next cycle, we hope the Prize will attract an even greater number of outstanding submissions from architects and firms, nationally and worldwide. I look forward to an innovative, transformative architecture to not only win the Prize but awaken ideas and thoughts that will alter our collective aspiration for the future of humanity.”

For further information

For more information on the 2017 Moriyama RAIC International Prize and how to submit your application, please visit their website. 

If you want to download the Media Kit, please click here.

For access to the Media Kit, please contact Andrew Huff at





Sign Up!

Latest content delivered weekly straight to your inbox


Los últimos contenidos semanalmente en tu correo